Miss Firecracker Contest Logo-smallTHE MISS FIRECRACKER CONTEST
Apr 27-May 13, 2018

Written by Beth Henley
Stage Direction by Dana Nelson-Isaacs
Choreography by Staci Arriaga


In the small town of Brookhaven, Mississippi, Carnelle Scott is furiously rehearsing for the Miss Firecracker Contest - hoping that a victory will salvage her tarnished reputation as “Miss Hot Tamale” and allow her to leave town in a blaze of glory. The unexpected arrival of her cousin Elain, a former Miss Firecracker winner, (who has walked out on her rich but boring husband and her two small children) complicates matters a bit, as does the repeated threat of Elain's eccentric brother, Delmount (recently released from a mental institution) to sell the family homestead and decamp for New Orleans. But, aided by a touchingly awkward seamstress named Popeye (who is hopelessly smitten by Delmount) and several other cheerfully nutty characters, Carnelle perseveres - leading to a denouement of unparalleled hilarity, compassion and moving lyricism as all concerned finally escape their unhappy pasts and turn hopefully toward what must surely be a better future.

Directed by Dana Nelson-Issacs
Stage Management by Sophia Osbourne
Costume and Property Design by Taylor Bartolucci
Lighting Design by April George
Hair and Makeup Design by Brette Bartolucci

Carnelle Scott: Melody Payne ^
Popeye Jackson: Sydney Schwindt ^
Elain Rutledge: Ashley Garlick ^
Delmount Williams: John Browning
Mac Sam: Chad Yarish
Tessy Mahoney: Becky Doyle

^ Lucky Penny Productions debut

FIRECRACKER Website Calendar 


fbicon youtubeicon twittericon